Voltage Range for Alta

This forum is for discusion of BitFlow's R64, R64e, Karbon, Neon and Alta products.

Moderator: BFSupport

Voltage Range for Alta

Postby imperial » Thu Mar 22, 2012 1:00 pm

My application is confocal microscopy.

I would like to use an Alta to digitise one or more analog voltages, by providing H and V syncs.

I notice that the input voltage range for the Alta is 0.3 to 1.4 V. I assume this means than any voltages below 0.3 V will be recorded as a zero.

If I add a 0.3 V bias to my voltage signal, will this work? Or does the ac coupling mean that this bias will be undone on the board before the ADC so that I will still lose signals below 0.3 V.

Also, I would be interested in hearing from anyone who has used an Alta for a similar application.

Thanks
imperial
 
Posts: 1
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 12:57 pm
Location: United Kingdom

Postby BFSupport » Tue Mar 27, 2012 1:44 pm

Hello,

In theory, adding a bias voltage to the signal could work. We would need more information about the entire signal to give a definite answer. You mentioned HSYNC and VSYNC, will the signal also have a back porch that effectively acts as a "zero" for the signal?

The quickest way to get an answer to questions in the future is to send an email to support at bitflow dot com.
BFSupport
 
Posts: 433
Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 8:01 pm


Return to R64/Karbon/Neon/Alta

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 0 guests

cron